Derby Trail Forums

Derby Trail Forums (http://www.derbytrail.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Paddock (http://www.derbytrail.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Two inquiry/DQ questions (http://www.derbytrail.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43132)

Split Rock 07-18-2011 08:10 PM

Two inquiry/DQ questions
 
I am wondering if anyone knows the answer to these two inquiry scenarios:

1) Horse 1A comes out of the gate and completely wipes out horse 1 (other half of the entry) and horse 1 goes down. Horse 1A wins the race. Does it come down?

2) Horse 2 breaks out of the gate and comes over on horse 3, almost knocking the 3 out of the race. However, the 3 rights itself and catches the 2 in the stretch. Both the 2 and 3 duel in the stretch and then the 3 comes over on the 2, knocking it into the rail. 3 wins and 2 runs 2nd. Both infractions warrant a DQ. How is it handled?

robfla 07-18-2011 08:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Split Rock (Post 792733)
I am wondering if anyone knows the answer to these two inquiry scenarios:

1) Horse 1A comes out of the gate and completely wipes out horse 1 (other half of the entry) and horse 1 goes down. Horse 1A wins the race. Does it come down?

2) Horse 2 breaks out of the gate and comes over on horse 3, almost knocking the 3 out of the race. However, the 3 rights itself and catches the 2 in the stretch. Both the 2 and 3 duel in the stretch and then the 3 comes over on the 2, knocking it into the rail. 3 wins and 2 runs 2nd. Both infractions warrant a DQ. How is it handled?

1) of course he comes down

2) I got a headache trying to figure this one out - or for that matter, actually happening

dino 07-19-2011 05:09 AM

I would still like to know if there is an entry and one of them is disqualified if the whole entry is disqualified. As an example 1 wins the race and 1A is disqualified and finishes 4th. If I have the 1 do I also get taken down?

golfer 07-19-2011 05:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dino (Post 792752)
I would still like to know if there is an entry and one of them is disqualified if the whole entry is disqualified. As an example 1 wins the race and 1A is disqualified and finishes 4th. If I have the 1 do I also get taken down?

The rules vary from State to State, but from a quick reading of the article below, if part of the entry does something to help the other half of the entry win, both could be disqualified.

On the flip side, I was reminded of Julie Krone, who in 1992, lodged an objection against her own entry-mate.

http://www.governmentlaw.org/files/D...ledEntries.pdf

ShadowRoll 07-19-2011 09:37 AM



Neither one of these got taken down.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/vault/article/magazine/MAG1138715/index.htm[/url]

Cannon Shell 07-19-2011 11:55 AM

I don't think you are DQ'ed for interfering solely with your entry mate if it is a same owner entry though I am not positive about this.

As for the 2nd scenario I'm pretty sure that they adjudicate the fouls in order of occurrence so the 2 would be placed 1st.

Of course as was stated different states may have rules that govern these situations.

cakes44 07-19-2011 05:23 PM

Two huge variables not mentioned in either situation:

1) Who is the trainer?

2) Who is the jockey?

v j stauffer 07-20-2011 12:23 AM

Incidents are judged in the order they occured. Official order of finish. 2,3.

Alabama Stakes 07-20-2011 04:00 AM

gate fouls
 
since when do they take down anyone for a gate foul ?

dagolfer33 07-20-2011 09:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cakes44 (Post 792914)
Three huge variables not mentioned in either situation:

1) Who is the trainer?

2) Who is the jockey?

3) Who is the owner?


FTFY


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.