![]() |
Worst Nfl Call Ever!
Bears Lions game clearly a touchdown by Detroit. Two feet down in the end zone, falls on his ass in the end zone and they call it incomplete? Total blown call by a ref who should be fired immediately!!!
Possibly a call worse than the Hockuli Charger Broncos call........ |
Way worse. Go down to the sports threads for the comments of a few folks.
|
It's not the ref. It's the dumbass "process of the reception" rule. It's a serious problem in the rulebook and that was a travesty today.
|
Just saw it for the first time. Just a travesty.
|
I say it again - the ball only ends up on the ground because Johnson got up to celebrate. I would think that with every catch Calvin makes the remainder of this season, he possesses the ball long enough to hand it to the referee.
|
It was a fine call..the right call.
|
Quote:
|
I missed the play at the time, only heard about it on the radio. I heared it was called a TD on the field and overturned upstairs, right? I have just seen it for the first time, and the call STUNK! The Rule STINKS! It was a DISGRACE to the game, the Bears were so horrible they didn't deserve this win, and Detroit was ROBBED!
|
Good.
|
The part I don't get about this a day later is what constitutes a "second motion." Why is spiking the ball considered a second motion, but placing the ball on the ground to celebrate doesn't? I just don't get it.
|
And I keep going back to the Lance Moore 2-point conversion from last year's Super Bowl. That was a TD - where the receiver literally had possession for .1 of a second - but this isn't?
|
Quote:
But what I'm thinking is that Lance Moore caught the ball before the goaline. Then he reached over (made a slight move) and broke the plain of the goaline, such as when a RB carries the ball and breaks the plain. If a RB breaks the plain and fumbles it's still a TD, just like in the case of Moore. The play is over and it's a TD. Now there is the ridiculous ruling on the reception that cost the Lions the game yesterday, where you must have possesion all the way through the play/action. I though he established possesion and it was just a terrible interpertion of the rule by the zebras. That's my guess. |
Right, the Moore play was clearly a different situation - the possessing the ball before breaking the plane as opposed to catching the ball in the end zone. I get that they're different rules, but Moore literally possessed the ball with two feet on the ground for a fraction of a second, and that was (correctly) called a 2-point conversion. Meanwhile, Calvin Johnson possesses the ball for almost two full seconds, comes down and places the ball on the ground to celebrate, and it's not a touchdown?
THe other thing is that if you read this rule in its entirely, one could easily argue that Johnson made the catch. |
Rule is only 2nd worst, to the "Tuck Rule" :p
|
The tuck rule is just dumb. I still don't know why more guys don't just pump fake and then run around without touching the ball with their other hand. It's impossible to fumble in that situation.
|
Quote:
Unfortunately for the Raiders it might have cost them a trip to the Super Bowl. |
When you hear the word "process" involved in an NFL call, that says lawyer speak to me. Get these lawyer, salesman, part time idiots out of the ref game!
|
They never fixed the tuck rule though -that thing is still on the books.
|
It was part of a larger conspiracy to keep Lovie Smith as coach of the Bears.
|
we will take it..
|
The call was correct. The rule needs to be changed.
|
Quote:
|
Yes, I'm going to take something from freaking ChicagoBears.com, i.e., the NFL, on this particular play as fact. Someone please explain to me why this was a catch in the CFL, Arena League, Pop Warner league, Lingerie League, the playground, and everywhere else on the planet aside from the NFL? I still disagree that the rule was written to interpret the Calvin Johnson play as a non-catch, regardless of what Chicago Bears fans and the NFL say.
Man, just when I was beginning to forget about this travesty and get ready for the pummeling the Eagles are going to lay on the Lions on Sunday, someone brings it back. Rar. |
I'm not posting the video to say when the Bears got screwed on the same call. What I'm posting is the fact this incident has been called on other occasions. Unfortunately I don't have video of other teams getting screwed over the same call.
Chris Collinsworth and Jack Buck said in the video that 'if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass, he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground.' Like I said before its the 2nd worst rule in football behind the tuck rule. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.