dalakhani |
05-27-2009 08:31 PM |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannon Shell
This is your new defense? The other refs didnt make the call? The ref that made the call was right there maybe 10 feet away. The other two refs are on the opposite side of the court. It was an obvious foul and the correct ref who made it. You cant trip up a guy driving to the basket and expect not to have a foul called. Stop the clip at 119 and you can clearly see Pietrus leg between James legs.
|
Are you blind? Good eye for horses, what happens with the roundball?
One blog's take:
James and the Cleveland Cavaliers even were saved by the referees at the end of regulation. With just seconds left in the fourth quarter James drove to his right. The stop-action video allows the viewer to see James two steps above the top of the key, dribbling with his right hand. With his left hand James attempts a stiff-arm of Michael Pietrus to clear him to his left as he begins to plant and go right with his dribble. But the stiff-arm attempt fails. James begins a dash to the right side of the lane but picks up his dribble a step before the foul line. He takes the ball, raises it with both hands and shoves his left elbow into Michael Pietrus’ chin. Pietrus grimaces as he is falling backwards. Two frames later James thinks he has planted with his left foot but in fact catches his left toe on the court and falls forward into Pietrus. James falls first. As his body is parallel with the court, there is no contact between Pietrus’ body and James’. LeBron loses the ball out of bounds. But even as the ball tumbles away James has already turned toward the official to complain.
The only contact made on the play was initiated by James and his elbow knocking Pietrus backward. Other than that, nothing of Michael Pietrus’ body touches LeBron James. NBA referees receive around $300,000 to differentiate between split-second acts like these. But in that moment it was judged that Pietrus somehow fouled the already falling James.
LeBron converted both foul shots to tie the game at 100 apiece.
One-half second of playing time later Anderson Varejao was riding up under a leaping Dwight Howard to ensure he did not receive an inbounds and lay the ball in all in one motion.
No foul was called and the game went to overtime.
|